|
An Ebay scam
I just sent the following message to mfn.net. I hope it achieves the desired result.
Today I received the following email from a user of your network. Not only is it spam, it is also a dangerous hoax attempting to make users think that they are using ebay to enter credit card, bank, anbd other personal info. A traceroute to www.ebaybillingservice.com terminates on your network -
19 * 741 ms 742 ms pos1-0.mpr5.sjc2.us.mfnx.net [208.185.156.66]
20 741 ms 741 ms 741 ms pos4-1.er8a.sjc2.us.mfnx.net [208.184.210.22]
21 * * * Request timed out.
Can you block their IP address? The sooner the better - no telling how many people might fall for this scam.
A search of their DNS record reveals the following:
WHOIS Record for
ebaybillingservice.com
Administrative Contact:
William Flowers
William Flowers
881 S. Gum Street
North Vernon, IN 47265
US
Phone: 812-346-1838
Email: iker_pastillas@hotmail.com
Domain servers in listed order:
NS3.FREESERVERS.COM 208.185.127.163
NS4.FREESERVERS.COM 209.210.67.154
Regards,
Chris Kelley
-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Customer Department
Date: Sun, 17 Nov 2002 15:28:56
From: Ebay
To:
Dear Ebay User,
We regret to inform you, but due to a recent system flush, the billing information for your
account was lost ,and can not be found.
In order to enjoy your Ebay experience and keep your account active, you must enter your
FULL information within 24 hours of recieving this e-mail.
To re-enter your account information and keep your account active,
http://www.ebaybillingservice.com
This page is 100% Secure using SSL Technology with 128-Bit Encryption.
Sincerely,
Sean Wright
Ebay Customer Department
© Copyright 2002 Chris Kelley.
Last update: 11/17/2002; 5:58:40 PM.
|